Happy New Year

Hello dear readers. Yes, I know I’m a day late, but happy, frugal new year to everyone!

So. It all starts here then. Yesterday we went for a cobweb blowing walk and very quickly realised something we don’t yet have – a thermos flask for hot drinks! So, I need to do something about that if I’m going to avoid buying coffees on days out. Doesn’t really fit in with the not-buying-it mentality though so I will have to look out for one in the charity shops.

We did take picnics on our walk though and had a really nice time, despite the wind and rain!

Me and my boy

Me and my boy

Today I have bagged up lots of things to take to the charity shop – five bags full and I don’t seem to have made a dent in the clutter. There is still a long way to go I think. I have also given away a rocker that S used when he was younger, so I hope the lady gets some use out of something that was just gathering dust at home.

I’m on day 2 of my Dryathlon today – going well so far! 😉

Hope everyone enjoys their days, and the rest of the weekend.

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. caterinacate says:

    Happy New Year! I understand what you mean about not buying and looking for a thermos flask in the charity shops, but you can also put an advert on your local freecycle/freegle/gumtree, and ask friends.

    However, I am experiencing first hand the benefits of owning a decent, well insulated flask, of which we have 3, all bought new. The first, a half litre one, is good for one person to carry hot drinks but too small for two. It serves me well when I go somewhere on my own. The second, a little wide-mouthed one, was a Christmas present I bought for DH a couple of years ago, quite expensive but it paid for itself a thousand times over because I can send DH to work with lovely hot soups and stews, saving an absolute fortune (Canary Wharf hot meal prices are upwards of a fiver a day!).

    The third one is ginormous and only practical for short outings for two or more (eg the allotment!) or driving trips. Invaluable for long journeys. Bought for not very much, got change out of a tenner, in tk maxx.

    What I am trying to say is, if you don’t find a flask through the usual frugal and money saving ways, consider buying one, it is one of those rare items for which the phrase “invest to save” was coined! Hope this helps.

    Ah, I forgot, I have also a lovely great big wide mouthed one that takes 1lt, found brand new in a skip, it is perfect to make homemade yogurt!

    Like

    • siobhanadmin says:

      Hi – thanks for the advice – after I posted I actually asked on my local Facebook selling site and am picking up a 0.75l one for free today! Probably not big enough for the two of us but fine until I get a larger one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

